Old Loyalty, New Love by Mary Calmes

Old Loyalty, New LoveOld Loyalty, New Love by Mary Calmes
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 73,902 Words
Purchase at Amzon and Barnes and Noble
Roses:  3
 

When jackal shifter Quade Danas was banished from his pack for being gay, he spent years in the military escaping his father’s prejudice before returning to civilian life as a bodyguard for Roman Howell, the teenage son of a very rich man. After Roman is in an accident that leaves him physically scarred and emotionally distant, Quade is the only one who can get through to him. As Roman becomes a man, he realizes what he wants—his bodyguard by his side and in his bed. Unfortunately, Quade can’t seem to see past the kid Roman once was to the man he has become, certain Roman’s feelings are merely misplaced gratitude. But Roman knows a lot more than Quade realizes, and he’s used to persevering, no matter how many impediments life throws his way. He wants the chance to prove to Quade that he’s strong enough for a jackal alpha to call mate.

Despite the decades Quade has been away, and the heartache of his father’s rejection, his inborn loyalty to the pack remains, and his abrupt departure left the jackal shifters without an alpha heir. As a psychopath shifter staking claim as alpha draws Quade back home, and Quade feels compelled to heed the call, he may be forced to make a choice he never anticipated. But doing so means he must leave Roman behind… unless somehow they find a way to make loyalty and love work together.

Excerpt

This was a nice shifter story.  The story starts out with feeling like you get dropped into the story part way through.  There was a lot of filling in of back story to do and it broke the rhythm of the book.  It was interesting to watch Quade struggle with his feelings for Roman.

I will admit right off that I didn’t care as much for this book.  I love the story line and side characters but the book went so fast.  With the feeling of being dropped in part way through and the speed of it I just couldn’t connect with the characters.  I didn’t get why these two had such strong feelings for each other.  I get there is a lot of past and the whole you see me for me but it just didn’t ring right with me.

Unlike others I wasn’t disturbed by the age difference.  It really didn’t bother me.  I had no issues with either of the characters.  I have always enjoyed the author’s characters and the snark and humor in her stories.  The writing with regards to that was a good as always.  I just didn’t get the depth to the story and characters as I usually do.

The writing was well done.  The author is always very descriptive.  The scenes come alive and are very vivid.  The plot makes sense and leads in a logical progression through the story.  As I said though there is something missing to this story that I usually get in her other books.  I just couldn’t grasp the emotion to connect to the characters.

I did enjoy the story.  I hope there is a follow up to the book with the descriptions of the other male characters and the way they are acting.  It would be interesting to hear what they do:)

rose-3

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Monday, April 21st, 2014, in Book Review, Fantasy, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, Three Roses, TJ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

