Captive Prince: Volume One by C.S. Pacat

Captive PrinceCaptive Prince: Volume One by C.S. Pacat
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Self
Novel:  343 Pages
Purchase at Amazon
Roses:  5
 

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos, but when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave.

Beautiful, manipulative and deadly, his new master Prince Laurent epitomizes the worst of the court at Vere. But in the lethal political web of the Veretian court, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen finds himself caught up in a play for the throne, he must work together with Laurent to survive and save his country.

For Damen, there is just one rule: never, ever reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else . . .

This is the first in a trilogy.  I believe the writer did a wonderful job of setting up the plot lines and relationships in the story.  This is a complex bit of work.  I will also admit I really didn’t like the first half or so.  Laurent was just unlikeable and yet the story seems to be set up to push him and Damen together.  O_o  Yeah….I couldn’t see that.  I’m starting to glimpse that there is more going on with Laurent than appears.  I really don’t believe that Laurent is that cold and cruel.  I will have to read the next book to find out if I’m right about that.  Damen seems convinced by everyone’s surface appearance yet that is what got him in trouble before!

The characters are well crafted.  I could see the slow development of Laurent as a person in the story.  Damen, as the story’s point of view, was a bit easier.  He did fill out more and grow as the story continues.  I am beginning to glimpse how these two men could fit together.  This shows a true talent for storytelling in the author.

So as our story goes along we get filled in on some of the two countries and their histories.  I have to admit I would have preferred to learn more of the conflict between the two countries.  I get that they warred over disputed land but never why it was in dispute.  I understand hating someone for killing a beloved figure but it seems the hatred is more and that there is something within the battle that we aren’t hearing about.  I am hoping some of this will be reveled in the second book.

The book can be really detailed with parts of the story and not so much in others.  Most of the sex/rape scenes are skimmed over which is good.  I must admit the author did a good job in detailing this world and its people, bringing this world to life.

Overall it was a bit of a heavy book.  I will say in parts I was just glad to get through.  Yet I did enjoy the book and believe that these parts I had trouble with also set up for everything else in the story to come.  The book is the foundation for the rest of the series.  I just think some readers will be turned off by the detail and length in which not much seems to happen.  It can get a bit dry but if the reader pushes through I believe they will enjoy the last half of the book more.  The action starts to pick up and we start seeing little cracks in how the world is perceived by Damen.  How, Damen, may be wrong about a lot of what he believes.  Excellent writing and overall solid read.

rose-5

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Sunday, March 30th, 2014, in Book Review, Fantasy, Five Roses, Novel: 150 pages and above, TJ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

