Shane and Trey by Anyta Sunday

Shane and TreyShane and Trey by Anyta Sunday
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Self
Novel:  268 Pages
Purchase at Amazon
Roses:  2
 

Shane is a little bit screwed, he’s just started college and stuck rooming with that bastard Trey. His sister’s boyfriend. His sister’s damn fine boyfriend. Uh-oh. This so wasn’t going to happen. But try as he might, there’s just a little too much to ignore between the two of them…

This was a nice read.  I think there is the need of some editing but it isn’t HORRIBLE.  Shane and his twin June are getting ready for college.  They along with June’s boyfriend Trey are all going to the same school which is close by.  Shane and Trey aren’t friendly.  Trey gave Shane a “wedgey” after a game of field hockey that Shane’s team won.  Shane avoided Trey when he could.  Unfortunately for Shane Trey ends up being his roommate at college.  Things begin happening between the two that starts to make Shane wonder if Trey likes him.  Worst of all Shane finds himself returning the feelings.

This was a mostly sweet romance.  I thought there would be more trouble with June in the whole mixture.  I don’t really feel there was cheating though it did come close a time or two.  The unfortunate thing is there were a lot of things that threw me out of the story.  I could tell the author wasn’t American and I had a really hard time figuring out where the story was set.  There were a lot of slang words used overseas but not in America yet it seemed that the author set it in America.  I’m still confused over that.

I also think the whole thing with Trey’s family was a bit overdone.  I don’t think parents would be that remote to their child over an incident like that.  I just didn’t see that.  There were also a few threads left hanging.  I don’t think it really detracted from the story but the story itself didn’t feel as complete because of that.

Overall it was a good read but just didn’t hit the mark for me.  I really wanted to like it and the overall underlying story line is good but the writing just made it too difficult to stay with the story.

rose-2

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Thursday, February 20th, 2014, in Book Review, Contemporary, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, TJ, Two Roses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

