Catch My Breath by M.J. O’Shea

Catch My BreathCatch My Breath by M.J. O’Shea
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press
Novel:  107,677 Words
Purchase at Amazon and Barnes and Noble
Roses:  3
 

Danny Bright was born to entertain. He just needs his big break. So when he hears that Blue Horizon Records is holding auditions looking for the next big thing, Danny jumps at the chance. It doesn’t turn out exactly as he imagined, though. Instead of getting solo contracts, Danny and four other guys are put into a boy band.

Innocent, idealistic Elliot Price thinks he’s headed for college. An impulsive decision to sing in the local talent search changes all that. A bigwig producer happens to see him, hands him a business card, and turns Elliot’s life upside down.

Elliot and Danny are close from the beginning. They love all the guys, but it’s different with each other. Soon their friendship turns into feelings more intense than either of them can ignore. The other three boys only want Danny a nd Elliot to be happy, but when their management team and record label discover two of their biggest tween heartthrobs are in a relationship, they’re less than pleased. Danny and Elliot find themselves in the middle of a circle of lies and cover-ups, all with one bottom line—money. They have to stay strong and stick together if they don’t want to lose themselves… and each other.

Excerpt

(I have read that this appears to some as Fan-Fic.  I admit to having no knowledge of this group that they talk about in current pop music.  I do not follow any of that sort of thing, to me this is just a regular book but thought I would give fair warning to others.)

The writing is excellent with the characters being fun and likable.  The story drags a bit in places.  I think there were a bit too many lovely-dovey scenes.   I loved all the characters and their interactions throughout the book.  (I wanted to see Sasha get what he deserved too!)  I would LOVE to see a follow up book.  There seems to be so much left up in the air.  I think they need to be tied up a little to make me comfortable with the ending.

rose-3

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Tuesday, September 3rd, 2013, in Book Review, Contemporary, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, Three Roses, TJ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

