One Two Three, Shatter by Joey James Hook

One Two Three, ShatterOne Two Three, Shatter by Joey James Hook
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Silver Publishing
Novel:  155,517 Words
Purchase at Amazon and Barnes and Noble
Roses:  5
 

Life was harsh and cruel to Kaleb Xander from very early on, and he was never given a moment’s rest to breathe and recover from the misery. Once freed from years in a cage of wrath and perverted lust, he found the real world to be a mere step up from what he was used to. Abuse was simply coming in different guises and through new avenues now.

All it should take is one person to reach out their hand and save this lost soul–but Kaleb is more complicated than that. It’ll take a miracle, and he’s banking on someone to be just that for him before he gives it all up.

CONTENT ADVISORY: This title contains scenes of rape or near rape and severe abuse. This book contains scenes of MF and MM intimacy.

 Excerpt

Whew!  What a book.  Kaleb is a broken man.  Abused horribly he runs away as a teen never finishing school.  This book is all about recovering from something so horrific most of us don’t want to even acknowledge that it exists.

Kaleb’s life is actually told more through his few relationships.  He struggles to create any relationships that last and even then they are very tumultuous.  Kaleb doesn’t know how to let anyone into his life.  Sid, his first true friend, Anna, a long time girlfriend and mother of his daughter, Stevie, his twin, and Trent, his boyfriend.  Kaleb is so broken he turns to drugs, heroin to escape what is in his head.  It is hard to blame the man when he has known so much pain.  He can’t even love his daughter believing that his genes being passed on is a horror.

The writing by the author is just amazing.  You can just feel Kaleb’s pain and sadness.  The characters are so real.  There is little “prettying” them up.  It’s a raw story.  There are times you hate Kaleb and wonder why he has to go the hard route and others you hurt for him.  I loved the story.  I’m not sure I would call this a romance as such though there is that in the story.

Kaleb talks a lot of his uncles saving him but I have a hard time with that.  I wondered why they couldn’t do more but they were criminals so a mistrust of police and a credibility issue would have been there.  Also the whole of the account of his mother, that portion of the story isn’t very credible.  Now I won’t say it couldn’t happen that way, I’m not that familiar with the system but I really doubt that his mother couldn’t have got him, that she was jailed for attempted kidnapping.  That with the information you get at the end of the story makes me doubt it.

This small niggle isn’t enough to put me off the story because it to me is fairly insignificant.  So rating this was different for me because of the fact to me it wasn’t a romance and that is what I read.  This was such a story though I have to give it a high rating because of how it drew me in and produced so much raw emotions with me without making it unrealistic.

rose-5

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Sunday, September 1st, 2013, in Book Review, Contemporary, Five Roses, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, TJ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

