A Beautiful Lie by Tyler Robbins

A Beautiful LieA Beautiful Lie by Tyler Robbins
Reviewer:  Tj
Publisher:  Evernight Publishing
Novel:  59,580 Words
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords
Roses:  3
 

Jesse Reagan has had more than his share of tragedy, and he may have been dealt another blow when, once again, cancer threatens the sister who raised him. Faced with the possibility of being left behind, Jesse vows to care for her young son, though he’s not convinced he can.

When Trip Cantrell returns to town, he’s blindsided the instant he’s reunited with his kid brother’s lifelong friend, Jesse. His inability to find happiness in the years he’s been gone, suddenly makes sense. Love’s been waiting at home all along.

Life begins to look promising, except for the fact that neither have come out of the closet publicly, and that’s not even their biggest problem. Someone has a secret so shocking they may never find a way past it.

Will they be accepted in their small Texas town, or will secrets, lies, and the threat of tragedy destroy everything?

Be Warned: m/m sex, frottage, rimming

Excerpt

I enjoyed the characters and the story line.  I thought the writing was good.  I did think the quickness of the relationship was a little too quick.  Though I can believe in love at first sight that isn’t really what this is and I don’t have too many issues with a relationship starting up between two men that grew up together.  I just think after so long with absolutely no communication between the two they somehow figure out that they are both gay and into each other pretty quick and “I love you’s” follow quickly.

I did enjoy the story but it was just missing something.  I am not even sure what but I didn’t connect to the characters much and I just didn’t feel that need to read what was going to happen NEXT on a great level.  Still a cute story.

rose-3

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Friday, August 30th, 2013, in Book Review, Contemporary, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, Three Roses, TJ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

