Pup by S.J.D. Peterson

Pup by S.J.D. PetersonPup by S.J.D. Peterson
Reviewer: Tj
Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press
Novel:  61,898 Words
Purchase at Amazon and Barnes and Noble
Roses:  3
 

Micah “Pup” Slayde knows he wants Tackett Austin the moment he lays eyes on him in the Guards of Folsom. Micah wants to have purpose, to be taken care of, and to take care of his Dom—wants to trust him completely, live for him, belong to him. To become his everything. Micah is sure Tackett is the one. The problem is, in order to be the perfect sub, he needs to stay focused, and that’s not easy for Micah, who suffers from what he refers to as a “broken brain.” Focus and adult attention deficit disorder rarely coexist.

Ever since Ty Callahan and Blake Henderson’s collaring ceremony, Tackett’s been thinking too much about his own loneliness. Even though Ty introduces Micah and urges Tackett to give him a try, Tackett isn’t so easily convinced. He’s spent his life pursuing a successful business career, and the subs he dominates almost never enjoy the kiss of his leather twice. Twenty years Micah’s senior, Tackett has no interest in taking on and taming such a young and naughty sub—but it’s difficult to resist such an adorable pup when he begs.

Excerpt

Warning this is a BDSM book so if you don’t like that kind of book don’t bother reading.  Warning number two has to do with mental health issues, if you struggle with mental health this may not be a book for you.

I struggled a lot with the rating for this.  The writing was good and the characters were engaging.  I enjoy reading BDSM so that never bothered me.  As I read this book though something did bother me.  I’ve never usually been squeamish even with harder core BDSM writing even straight out non-consent but this one bothered me and I could not put my finger on why.  Finally after seeking out others who had read the book I figured it out.  I really had a hard time with the control of Micah’s condition.  There were never any questions asked about health care and mental care when it was introduced into the discussion between Dom and Sub.  (These are two major questions to be asked in these relationships.)  I really didn’t like how Tackett controlled Micah when it came to this issue.  It was very disturbing to me.  If this had been a non-con it would have been different but it wasn’t.

Separating all of that out of the context of the review, the story was good.  I really wanted to see these two make it.  Part of making a good story to me is how much the author manages to engage the reader into the story.  Are you having some sort of emotional reaction to the story?  Is the reader invested?  To me if you make me care about the characters and what happens half the battle to making the book good is won.  The author did manage to do that with me.  I cared about the characters.  Is Tackett going to cave and finally keep a Sub?  Will Micah be able to control his “broken brain”?  Will Tackett be the one to help Micah with that?

I do wish I could have had more of a positive look at the story.  I would have been more positive if there had been a different look at how a mental illness or condition can work in a BDSM relationship.  Still if you aren’t bothered by this aspect of the book it is an entertaining story.

rose-3

About bluesmokey

I'm a plain Jane who longs to put her imagination to work. I'm not a writer but I like to read.

Posted on Thursday, July 25th, 2013, in Book Review, Contemporary, M/M Romance, Novel: 150 pages and above, Three Roses, TJ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a good, but twisted story

  2. Yes, that is a very good way to put it.

Discuss:

