Clown’d by K.A. Merikan

clownd_cover600
Clown’d by K.A. Merikan
Reviewer: Lor
Self-Published
Short Story: 10,000 words approximate
Purchase on Amazon or Smashwords
Goodreads Page
Roses: 4

 — It’s clowns. It’s a gangbang. It’s helium balloons. —

Some nights just don’t go as planned. It’s Halloween and Kyle’s rushing home to see his boyfriend after a late evening shift at work. As usual, he takes a shortcut through the local park, but a poster informing about a killer clown in the area makes him apprehensive about being alone in the dark. It’s only when he discovers there is a man in a clown costume following him that he panics. Soon, it turns out his cackling shadow isn’t the only circus freak hiding in the dark, but what does a bunch of crazy clowns do when they catch you?

Excerpt

Let me start off by saying that I hate clowns. HATE. Both Kat and Agnes have tortured me relentlessly over the past months with stupid clowns. Mostly Kat but who’s keeping track besides me? Despite my reservations I started beta reading this last week.

Putting my wig out sessions aside this what I truly think of Clown’d.

The story itself is engaging and semi-terrifying even if you’re okay with clowns. Kyle, the MC, is walking home through a park, late at night, and comes across a sign, “Be especially vigilant on Halloween and do not underestimate people in costume… BEWARE!” he thinks little of it and continues on till something brings him up short. Clowns.

Three clowns corral Kyle in the park’s playground till the unexpected happens. Kyle realizes he’s kidnappers are in fact his boyfriend and several other unknown men.

This took me by surprise but it was a good surprise to say the least. Now poor Kyle isn’t getting dragged off by unknown murderous clowns. I probably would’ve died or something if he was… Moving on!

The clowns proceed to “kidnap” Kyle and a lovely gangbang ensues in the back of a truck. The clowns use Kyle in the best ways possible. What I loved is the emphasis on safe sex in this piece. Relations between Kyle and his boyfriend were unprotected but between Kyle and the rest of the men a condom was always used. I don’t see this enough in the M/M genre.

The story ends wrapped in a nice little bow and I can honestly say I love it. Do I want a sequel with more clowns? No. Only because I don’t think I can take the torture of more clowns (or Kat and Agnes).

I am glad I stepped out of my comfort zone to read this and K.A. Merikan was the perfect author to pop my clown reading cherry. Now if everyone would excuse me I have to go burn my blankie.

Why you ask? This is in Clown’d’s dedication:

P.S. Lor, there’s a clown under your blankie.

rose-4

About Lor Rose

I am an author and press owner. The articles are posted, the writing is never done, the house is a mess. It's time for a nap.

Posted on Sunday, April 7th, 2013, in Book Review, Four Roses, Lor, Short Story: 1-100 pages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Discuss:

